The Force is Strong with This One.

If you don’t already know, I am currently studying at the Institute for Integrative Nutrition. It’s a year-long, distance learning program, and when I graduate I will be a Certified Holistic Health Coach. I’m learning a great deal of dietary theory, but I’m also studying business and practical coaching skills.

The school is pretty well-known in the wellness community, and one reason for that is the speakers. When they want to teach you about Raw Food, they get David Wolfe. If we cover Atkins, we get the Vice-President of Education and Research.

Last week, I listened to Julia Cameron, author of The Artist’s Way, speak about rediscovering your creativity. She closed with this exercise:

I’m going to ask you six questions, and I want you to answer them in the voice of Obi-Wan Kenobi. (In other words, from a higher being).

Everyone chuckled, but when she asked the questions, I was surprised by my own answers. I figured I’d share them with you, because the exercise was pretty useful (after all, it wasn’t really Obi-Wan Kenobi answering the questions, if you catch my drift). And because I haven’t posted in a long time, and this seemed like a good place to start. I couldn’t help but picture a frustrated, over-acted Luke Skywalker rolling his eyes at the esoteric answers of his master. But anyway, here is what my inner Obi-Wan has to say:

1. What do I need to know? You already know all you need to know.

2. What to I need to accept? Accept that life is always changing, that you are connected with all living things. Accept the swirls of time. To resist these things is against your nature.

3. What do I need to try? Try everything.

4. What do I need to do? You only need to be. When the time comes for action, you will know what to do.

5. What do I need to grieve? Grieve for those you have lost through distance or death. Grieve for the plight of your fellow humans and for the destruction of the Earth. But do not dwell in grief. Feel your sadness and let it wash over you; it is only by being in it that you are able to move through it.

What do I need to celebrate? Life. Every moment. Every leaf, every breeze, every breath. Full moons. Quiet mornings. Teaching. Learning. Music. Celebrate your “you”-ness, and the freedom to create the life of your dreams.

What does your inner Obi-Wan say?

About Samantha Pollack

In 2010 I abandoned my city-slicker, Bostonian ways in exchange for a life of adventure in Asheville, NC. I'm a book-slaying, cat-owning, olive-loving, trail-running, movie-watching writer and holistic health coach. Hi.
This entry was posted in Life in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Force is Strong with This One.

  1. janotaylor says:

    Sammy, don’t get gettin’ all zen-buddha-yoga on me or I’ll have to abort my RTW trip early and come down to NC to smack you around a bit;) Seriously, I hope things are going well for you which I imagine it is b/c you sound centered;)

    xjano

Leave a Reply

