2011 in review

Every year, WordPress sends me a report of my blog’s activity in the preceding year. I know I haven’t written much in the last half of 2011, but the numbers are still impressive.

When I started the blog, I wanted to chronicle my move from Boston, MA to Asheville, NC. Part of my motivation was to keep everyone up to date on my activities and mental state, so I wouldn’t have to explain everything 9,000 times. But I also knew I’d be lonely, and that writing would be a creative outlet for me. It would help me feel more connected.

As 2011 barreled along, my life shifted. I started a Health Coaching business. I became an aunt. The daily challenges and inspirations of my life are still informed by the fact that I just relocated, but relocation is never what I want to write about anymore. That, a busy schedule and a multitude of personal challenges kept me from a regular blogging practice.

These stats are so encouraging. Scroll down to the map, where it shows you the location of my readers. Africa?? Maybe it was only one person, but still. If sporadic posts and months-long silence can get to one African, imagine what regular writing can do.

Look for a renamed, redesigned blog coming your way this month. Happy new year!

Here’s an excerpt:

A San Francisco cable car holds 60 people. This blog was viewed about 1,900 times in 2011. If it were a cable car, it would take about 32 trips to carry that many people.

Click here to see the complete report.

About Samantha Pollack

In 2010 I abandoned my city-slicker, Bostonian ways in exchange for a life of adventure in Asheville, NC. I'm a book-slaying, cat-owning, olive-loving, trail-running, movie-watching writer and holistic health coach. Hi.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2011 in review

  1. eddust says:

    you should keep writing! I really think you’ve got a nice style…! It’s mid 2012, you still have time! I hope to hear from your blog soon! šŸ˜€

    http://cheerstoall.net

  2. Thank you! I actually started my new blog, a little more focused on health, but with the same style. You can find me at feedyourheadblog.com. Thanks for your encouragement!

Leave a Reply

